Club app icon

Pitchero Club

The best way to keep up to date with Holmer Green FC

View

Step 5 Football secured at Watchet Lane

2 months ago By John Anderson

8 days of brainstorming comes up with positive result

Chairman Rob Shed, accompanied by President John Anderson, presented the Club's case at Wembley on Monday 11th June for not being transferred from The Spartan South Midlands League to The Hellenic League at Step Five. The Club, which is strictly amateur, was faced with the prospect of 50% more travelling in terms of time and distance. Despite the main driving reason to make changes to the various leagues' composition is meant to be reduction in travelling and commensurate cost thereof. Holmer Green FC's very good record for a little village club at this lofty step would seem to count against them. The Appeal, like so many similar ones in the past few weeks, fell on deaf ears.
However discussions and communications between senior Committee Officers concluded, on Thursday 21st June, with the agreement to join the Hellenic League despite the above mentioned substantial extra costs. There will be adjustments to the composition of Club Officers and their responsibilities. But the strong playing Management structure already in place for the three senior teams, and the identifying of extra revenue streams that will be required, proved to be the catalysts for going ahead.

Updated 18:31 - 2 Jul 2018 by John Anderson

Where next?

Friendlies Schedule Announced First Test on Tuesday 10th July, 7pm at Watchet Lane
Minors Shine in the Sun! Holmer Green FC held a successful Minors Presentation on Sunday 20 May 2018

Fixtures
Tue 14 Aug
h
First Team Ascot United
League 19:45
Wed 15 Aug
h
Development Team Risborough Rangers
Friendly 19:00
Thu 16 Aug
h
Allied Counties Flackwell Heath
Friendly 19:00
Sat 18 Aug
a
First Team Binfield
League 15:00
Tue 21 Aug
a
League 19:45
Thu 23 Aug
a
Development Team HGFC Allied Counties XI
Friendly 19:00
h
Allied Counties HGFC Development XI
Friendly 19:00
Sat 25 Aug
a
First Team Northwood possibly
Cup 15:00

News sponsors

Affiliations

Club sponsors